Skip to main content

You are here


(Please see Members page for our students' awards)

2019 Walker Scholar (ME-UT Austin)

2019 Fellow of the Institute of Physics

2019 Franklin Award for Outstanding Teaching, Research and Service (ME-UT Austin)

2018 Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry

2018 Materials Today Rising Star Award from Elsevier Ltd


2017 National Institutes of Health (NIH) Director's New Innovator Award (UT News; SPIE News)


2017 Early Career Faculty Award from National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

2017 Young Investigator Award from Office of Naval Research (ONR)

2017 Chemical Communications Emerging Investigator from Royal Society of Chemistry

2016 Journal of Materials Chemistry Emerging Investigator from Royal Society of Chemistry

2015 Analyst Emerging Investigator from Royal Society of Chemistry

2015 Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award from Oak Ridge Associated Universities

2015 3M Nontenured Faculty Award from 3M Company

2015 Asian/Asian-American Faculty Staff Association Professional Development Award 

2014 Beckman Young Investigator Award from Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation

2014 Graduate School Alumni Society Early Career Award from Pennsylvania State University

2012 Chancellor’s Award Finalist for Postdoctoral Research, University of California, Los Angeles

2010 Alumni Association Dissertation Award, Pennsylvania State University

2009 Materials Research Society Graduate Student Award, Materials Research Society

2009 Rustum and Della Roy Innovation in Materials Research Award, Pennsylvania State University

2008 Founder’s Grant and Prize of the American Academy of Mechanics, Robert M. and Mary Haythornthwaite Foundation