Skip to main content

You are here

Awards and Honors

(Please see Members page for our students' awards)

2024 Fellow of the Optica (Formerly Optical Society of America)

2023 Distinguished Seminar Series, Paul M. Rady Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Colorado Boulder

2023 Chemical Communications Pioneering Investigator, Royal Society of Chemistry

2022 Outstanding Cover Award of Aggregate, Wiley

2022 One of four finalists for the Curtis W. McGraw Research Award, American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE)

2021 The International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE) Senior Member

2021 Temple Foundation Endowed Teaching Fellowship in Engineering #2, UT Austin

2021 Participant at German-American Frontiers of Engineering Symposium, National Academy of Engineering

2021 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Senior Member

2021 Outstanding Reviewer for Nanoscale Advances, Royal Society of Chemistry

2020 William W. Hagerty Endowed Faculty Fellowship in Engineering, UT Austin

2020 IEEE NANO Best Poster Award

2020 Texas Health Catalyst Award

2019 University Co-op Research Excellence Award for Best Paper

2019 Texas Health Catalyst Consulting Award

2019 Department of Defense DURIP Award

2019 Top 5% of Highly Cited Authors in Analytical Portfolio of Royal Society of Chemistry

2019 Optical Society of America (OSA) Senior Member 

2019 J. Mike Walker Faculty Scholarship, UT Austin

2019 Fellow of the Institute of Physics

2019 Franklin Award for Outstanding Teaching, Research and Service, UT Austin

2018 Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry

2018 Materials Today Rising Star Award from Elsevier Ltd


2017 National Institutes of Health (NIH) Director's New Innovator Award (UT News; SPIE News)


2017 Early Career Faculty Award from National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

2017 Young Investigator Award from Office of Naval Research (ONR)

2017 Chemical Communications Emerging Investigator from Royal Society of Chemistry

2016 Journal of Materials Chemistry Emerging Investigator from Royal Society of Chemistry

2016 ASME NanoEngineering for Medicine and Biology Conference Poster Competition Award

2015 Analyst Emerging Investigator from Royal Society of Chemistry

2015 Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award from Oak Ridge Associated Universities

2015 3M Nontenured Faculty Award from 3M Company

2015 Asian/Asian-American Faculty Staff Association Professional Development Award 

2014 Beckman Young Investigator Award from Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation (Video)


2014 Graduate School Alumni Society Early Career Award from Pennsylvania State University

2012 Chancellor’s Award Finalist for Postdoctoral Research, University of California, Los Angeles

2010 Alumni Association Dissertation Award, Pennsylvania State University

2009 Materials Research Society Graduate Student Award, Materials Research Society

2009 Rustum and Della Roy Innovation in Materials Research Award, Pennsylvania State University

2008 Founder’s Grant and Prize of the American Academy of Mechanics, Robert M. and Mary Haythornthwaite Foundation (Winning assay: Progress Through Mechanics: Artificial Molecular Machines

2008 King Abdullah University of Science and Technology Scholar Award

2007 Sabih and Güler Hayek Graduate Scholarship, Pennsylvania State University


We acknowledge our past and current research sponsors

NIH, NSF, ONR, NASA, ARO, Beckman Foundation, 3M, Exxonmobil, ORAU, and UT Austin